



THE 52nd HURSTPIERPOINT COLLEGE NATIONAL PONY CLUB JUMPING CHAMPIONSHIPS HICKSTEAD

Thursday 3rd August 2017

RULES GOVERNING THE CHAMPIONSHIPS

- 1 Speed 325m per minute. To be judged under Pony Club rules. Table A.
- 2 <u>EACH PONY CLUB MAY ENTER ONLY ONE TEAM</u>. Each area may enter not more than three teams which may be selected if desired at a Regional qualifying competition. It is not obligatory to hold a Regional qualifying competition.
- 3 Each team will consist of three or four paid-up Members of the same branch.
- 4 All horses/ponies are eligible for this Championship except Grade A horses and JA ponies. Grade A horses which won less than £750 (actual winnings) in the previous calendar year, horses first upgraded to Grade A in the current calendar year irrespective of winnings, JA ponies which won less than £500 (actual winnings) in the previous calendar year, and ponies first upgraded to JA in the current calendar year irrespective of winnings are eligible.
- 5 Entries will be made by the District Commissioner or Secretary of the Branch. Nomination entries will not be accepted, but substitutions will be allowed at the time of declaration. ALL TEAMS MUST DECLARE EITHER BY TELEPHONE (01273 834315) OR AT THE SECRETARY'S OFFICE BY 5.30 pm THE DAY BEFORE.
- 6 Maximum height of fences in the preliminary round 1.15m.
- 7 No horse or rider may compete in more than one pony club team, and no horse or rider may compete more than once in the same team. Horses and/or riders may compete in the Schools Jumping Championships (schedules available on request – no qualification required).
- 8 This Championship will be decided as follows:
 - (i) There will be a preliminary competition in Ring 2 at 8.30 am. Each <u>complete</u> team will enter the ring, and start in jumping card order. Each rider will go through the start and finish and will NOT start before the bell. Each rider will jump one round only. The other members of the team will wait in a holding box in the ring until it is their turn to jump. The score of the team will be found by adding together the faults of the best three riders in each team. The eight highest placed teams will go forward to the final in the International Arena. If the number of teams on equal faults exceeds eight, places in the finals will be decided by a jump-off. Teams will nominate one rider to jump off against the clock.
 - (ii) The final will take place in the International Arena. In the final, the team with the most faults in the preliminary competition will start first, and the team with the least, last. The number one rider from each team will jump first, followed by the number two rider, and so on. FAULTS INCURRED IN THE PRELIMINARY COMPETITION WILL NOT BE CARRIED FORWARD TO THE FINAL. In any round, if a rider is eliminated his score will not count. In the event of a tie for first place, there will be one jump-off against the clock.
 - (iii) At the conclusion of the Pony Club Team Jumping Championship, there will be an Individual Championship. This is only open to those competitors who have qualified to jump in the Team Finals in the International Arena. All competitors who jump a clear round in the Team Finals in the International Arena will go forward to a timed jump-off. If there are no clear rounds, the best scores, e.g. the four faulters, from the first round will jump-off. In the event of there being only 2 to jump-off, the third placing will be decided on faults and time in the first round in the International Arena. If a jump-off is needed to decide the Team Championships, the scores of any eligible individuals involved in that jump-off will count towards the Individual placings, ie. they will not jump-off again. There will be three individual placings.
 - (iv) Immediately after the Pony Club Team & Individual Championships there will be a parade of ALL teams in the International Arena, where each rider will receive a rosette.

The Secretary, All England Jumping Course, Hickstead, Sussex RH17 5NU Tel: 01273 834315 Fax: 01273 834452

www.hickstead.co.uk

continued

- 9 Jackets, Jodhpurs or breeches, boots and hats in line with current pony club rules must be worn. Hats must be worn with the chin strap correctly fastened at all times when mounted, including during the prize giving. Hat covers must be dark blue or black.
- 10 The General Rules and Regulations governing competitions at Hickstead will apply (see back of Entry Form).

ENTRY FEE: £88 per team.

STABLING will be available at £35.00 per night, per box. No horses/ponies will be admitted to the showground before 4.00pm on Tuesday 1st August 2017.

TEAM PRIZES:		INDIVIDUAL PRIZES:	
1st	Trophy presented by the late Mr. G. H. Bunn	1st	Trophy, Rug, Leather Headcollar & Rope,
	Gold Medal, Champion's Sash and Rosette to each rider		Champion's Sash and Rosette
2nd	Gold Medal and Rosette to each rider	2nd	Plaque, Rug and Rosette
3rd	Gold Medal and Rosette to each rider	3rd	Rug & Rosette

D	1978 – ESSEX HUNT	1991 – WEST HANTS	2004 – IVEAGH PONY CLUB
Previous Team Winners:	1979 – CRAVEN	1992 – ALBRIGHTON WOODLAND	2005 – IVEAGH PONY CLUB
1967 – GARTH	1980 – SOUTHWOLD NORTH	1993 – DULVERTON WEST	2006 – CRICKHOWELL PONY CLUB
1968 – WEST WARWICKSHIRE	1981 – MEYNELL	1994 – TIVYSIDE	2007 – BURTON HUNT
1969 – SOUTH BERKSHIRE	1982 – MEYNELL	1995 – PENTYRCH HUNT	2008 – ATHERSTONE HUNT
1970 – MID-SURREY	1983 – CAMBRIDGE HUNT	1996 – CHIDDINGFOLD	2009 – FITZWILLIAM
1971 – SOUTH NOTTS	1984 – NORTH NORFOLK	1997 – NORTH NORFOLK	2010 – WEST WARWICKSHIRE
1972 – SANDOWN CHASE	1985 – VALE OF AYLESBURY	1998 – MEYNELL HUNT	2011 – GARTH HUNT
1973 – CREWE & DISTRICT	1986 – CANCELLED	1999 – CHIDDINGFOLD	2012 – WARWICKSHIRE HUNT
1974 – WARLINGHAM	1987 – NORTH WARWICKSHIRE	2000 – AVON VALE HUNT	2013 – BEAUFORT HUNT
1975 – MEYNELL 'B'	1988 – NORTH NORFOLK	2001 – SOUTH TRENT	2014 – SOUTH NOTTS HUNT
1976 – MEYNELL	1989 – PUCKERIDGE HUNT	2002 – IVEAGH PONY CLUB	2015 – ALBRIGHTON WOODLAND
1977 – BROCKLESBY	1990 – ASHFORD VALLEY	2003 – IVEAGH PONY CLUB	2016 – PORTMAN HUNT

Previous Individual Winners:

2004 – Claire Percy (Iveagh)	2009 – Amanda Hylands (Iveagh)	2014 – Leah McCrady (Garth Hunt)
2005 – Declan McParland (Iveagh) 2006 – Ben Murray (Atherstone Hunt)	2010 – Chloe Kirkpatrick (Heythrop Hunt) 2011 – Kerry Grimster (Garth Hunt)	2015 – Hollie Pearce (Garth Hunt) 2016 – Ellie Barnwell (Lord Leconfield)
2007 – Kate Walters (South Nottinghamshire)	2012 – Aoife Dooley (Iveagh)	2010 Elic Barlwen (Lord Leconneid)
2008 – Imogen Murray (Atherstone Hunt)	2013 – Heather Larson (Wylye Valley)	

On 3rd August 2017, the events at Hickstead will be this Championship and the Hurstpierpoint College National Schools Jumping Championships. All riders at these events, their parents and friends may use the Members' Enclosure at no charge.

Show Directors: Mr. E. H. D. Bunn, Miss E. S. P. Bunn	
Asst. Show Directors: Mr. & Mrs. J. Youngs	Secretaries: Miss E. Bunn, Mr E. Reeves, Miss M. Edwards, Miss A. Oxford, Mrs. H. Sinclair

RULES FOR QUALIFYING COMPETITIONS IF HELD

Course builder - British Showjumping Assistant or Panel course builder.

COURSE	Height	Spread
Compulsory obstacles		
2 Verticals	1.15m	
1 True parallel	1.10m	1.10m
1 Triple bar	1.10m	1.50m
2 Double combinations	1.10m	1.10m
Remaining obstacles	1.00m - 1.10m	1.00m - 1.10m
NOT TO BE INCLUDED		
Water Jump		