



# THE 56th HURST COLLEGE NATIONAL PONY CLUB JUMPING CHAMPIONSHIPS

## **HICKSTEAD**

## Friday 1st July 2022

#### RULES GOVERNING THESE CHAMPIONSHIPS

- 1 Speed 325m per minute. To be judged under Pony Club rules. Table A.
- 2 OPEN TO ANY BRANCH OF THE PONY CLUB NO QUALIFICATION REQUIRED. Each branch may enter up to two teams.
- 3 Each team will consist of three or four paid-up members of the same branch.
- 4 All horses/ponies are eligible for this Championship.
- 5 ALL ENTRIES TO BE COMPLETED ONLINE at <a href="https://equilive.uk">https://equilive.uk</a>. Nomination entries will not be accepted, but substitutions will be allowed at the time of declaration. All teams must declare either by telephone or at the Show Office by 5.30pm the day before (30th June). Cancellation of entries will entail forfeiture of 50% of entry fees. Should any competition be cancelled because of bad weather or any reason, entry fees will be refunded. It is regretted that stabling and other charges cannot be refunded.

#### 6 MAXIMUM HEIGHT OF FENCES IN THE PRELIMINARY ROUND 1.10M.

- 7 No horse or rider may compete in more than one Pony Club team, and no horse or rider may compete more than once in the same team. Horses and/or riders may compete in the Hurst College National Schools Jumping (no qualification required) or Hickstead Elite NSEA Championships (if qualified) on the same day schedules available online at www.hickstead.co.uk/entries-results-schooling.
- 8 This Championship will be decided as follows:
  - (a) There will be a preliminary competition in Equine America Ring 3 at 8.00 am. Each complete team will enter the ring, and start in jumping card order. Each rider will go through the start and finish and will NOT start before the bell. Each rider will jump one round only. The other members of the team will wait in a holding box in the ring until it is their turn to jump. The score of the team will be found by adding together the faults of the best three riders in each team. The eight highest placed teams will go forward to the final in the Longines International Arena. If the number of teams on equal faults exceeds eight, places in the finals will be decided by a jump-off. Teams will nominate one rider to jump off against the clock.
  - (b) The final will take place in the Longines International Arena. In the final, the team with the most faults in the preliminary competition will start first, and the team with the least, last. The number one rider from each team will jump first, followed by the number two rider, and so on. Faults incurred in the preliminary competition will not be carried forward to the final. In any round, if a rider is eliminated his score will not count. In the event of a tie for first place, there will be one jump-off against the clock.
  - (c) At the conclusion of the Pony Club Team Jumping Championship, there will be an Individual Championship. This is only open to those competitors who have qualified to jump in the Team Finals in the Longines International Arena. All competitors who jump a clear round in the Team Finals in the Longines International Arena will go forward to a timed jump-off. If there are no clear rounds, the best scores, e.g. the four faulters, from the first round will jump-off. In the event of there being only 2 to jump-off, the third placing will be decided on faults and time in the first round in the Longines International Arena. If a jump-off is needed to decide the Team Championships, the scores of any eligible individuals involved in that jump-off will count towards the Individual placings, i.e. they will not jump-off again. There will be three individual placings.
  - (d) Immediately after the Pony Club Team & Individual Championships, there will be a parade of ALL teams in the Longines International Arena, where each rider will receive a rosette.

### ENTRIES CLOSE on 17th JUNE 2022

All England Jumping Course, Hickstead, Hassocks, West Sussex BN6 9NS Tel: 01273 834315 www.hickstead.co.uk

- 9 Jackets, jodhpurs or breeches, boots and hats in line with current Pony Club rules must be worn. Hats must be worn with the chin strap correctly fastened at all times when mounted, including during the prize giving. Hat covers must be dark blue or black.
- 10 The General Rules and Regulations governing competitions at Hickstead will apply (see online). The Executive may in any dispute or other matter whatsoever, act or decide in any manner they think fit.

**ENTRY FEE:** £120 per team (includes £96 entry fee and £24 first aid contribution)

**STABLING** will be available at £40.00 per night per box. No horses/ponies will be admitted to the showground before 4.00pm on Thursday 30th June 2022. Shavings are available for purchase at Hickstead, or exhibitors may bring their own. It is regretted that straw is banned from the Stable Field due to Fire Regulations. It is a requirement to put your mobile number on your horsebox pass which must be displayed in the windscreen. It is prohibited for any exhibitor or associate to interfere with another exhibitor's horsebox.

**INDIVIDUAL PRIZES:** 

#### **TEAM PRIZES:**

#### 1st Trophy presented by the late Mr. G. H. Bunn 1st Trophy, rug, leather headcollar & rope, Gold medal, champion's sash and rosette to each rider Champion's sash and rosette Gold medal and rosette to each rider 2nd 2nd Plaque, rug and rosette Gold medal and rosette to each rider 3rd 3rd Rug & rosette

#### **Previous Team Winners:**

1967 – GARTH	1986 – CANCELLED	2005 – IVEAGH
-, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -, -		
1968 – WEST WARWICKSHIRE	1987 – NORTH WARWICKSHIRE	2006 – CRICKHOWELL
1969 – SOUTH BERKSHIRE	1988 – NORTH NORFOLK	2007 – BURTON HUNT
1970 – MID-SURREY	1989 – PUCKERIDGE HUNT	2008 – ATHERSTONE HUNT
1971 – SOUTH NOTTS	1990 – ASHFORD VALLEY	2009 – FITZWILLIAM
1972 – SANDOWN CHASE	1991 – WEST HANTS	2010 – WEST WARWICKSHIRE
1973 – CREWE & DISTRICT	1992 – ALBRIGHTON WOODLAND	2011 – GARTH HUNT
1974 – WARLINGHAM	1993 – DULVERTON WEST	2012 – WARWICKSHIRE HUNT
1975 – MEYNELL 'B'	1994 – TIVYSIDE	2013 – BEAUFORT HUNT
1976 – MEYNELL	1995 – PENTYRCH HUNT	2014 – SOUTH NOTTS HUNT
1977 – BROCKLESBY	1996 – CHIDDINGFOLD	2015 – ALBRIGHTON WOODLAND
1978 – ESSEX HUNT	1997 – NORTH NORFOLK	2016 – PORTMAN HUNT
1979 – CRAVEN	1998 – MEYNELL HUNT	2017 – GARTH HUNT
1980 – SOUTHWOLD NORTH	1999 – CHIDDINGFOLD	2018 – POLDEN HILLS
1981 – MEYNELL	2000 – AVON VALE HUNT	2019 – POLDEN HILLS
1982 – MEYNELL	2001 – SOUTH TRENT	2020 – NOT HELD
1983 – CAMBRIDGE HUNT	2002 – IVEAGH	2021 – CRAWLEY & HORSHAM HUNT
1984 – NORTH NORFOLK	2003 – IVEAGH	

#### **Previous Individual Winners:**

2013 – Heather Larson (Wylye Valley)

1985 – VALE OF AYLESBURY

2004 - Claire Percy (Iveagh)	2014 - Leah McCrady (Garth Hunt)
2005 - Declan McParland (Iveagh)	2015 – Hollie Pearce (Garth Hunt)
2006 – Ben Murray (Atherstone)	2016 – Ellie Barnwell (Lord Leconfield)
2007 – Kate Walters (South Notts)	2017 – Emma Thomas (Warwickshire)
2008 – Imogen Murray (Atherstone)	2018 – Alice Nunn (Polden Hills)
2009 – Amanda Hylands (Iveagh)	2019 - Poppy Prince (South Notts)
2010 - Chloe Kirkpatrick (Heythrop)	2020 – Not Held
2011 – Kerry Grimster (Garth Hunt)	2021 – Christina Rawding (Bicester & Warden Hill)
2012 – Aoife Dooley (Iveagh)	

2004 - IVEAGH

On 1st July 2022, the events at Hickstead will be this Championship and the Hurst College National Schools Jumping Championships. All riders at these events, their parents and friends may use the Members' Enclosure at no charge.